What is Asset Mapping?

Icon showing a tree, a school, building, and a bus.Asset Mapping is a tool that relies on a core belief of asset-based community development; namely, that good things exist in communities and that those things can be highlighted and encouraged — these are assets suited to advancing those communities.

Asset Mapping is a means, not an end.

As a refresher review the six categories of community assets:

1. Physical Assets

Physical assets in the community include land, buildings, transportation, and facilities that can contribute to community strengthening.

2. Economic Assets

Economic assets include what residents produce and consume in the community, in both formal and informal ways, through local businesses, or bartering and trading relationships, that can contribute.

3. Stories

Stories carry the memory of a community and can describe the potential of a community based on previous times as remembered by those who live there.

4. Local Residents

Local residents are those who live in the community. Residents' skills, experiences, capacities, passions, and willingness can contribute to community strengthening.

5. Local Associations

These include associations in the community primarily run by volunteers, such as athletic clubs, faith-based groups, and others that can contribute.

6. Local Institutions

Local institutions are public spaces in the community such as schools, libraries, parks, and government entities, such as nonprofits.